topbar_address - is not exists.
topbar_phone_2 - is not exists.topbar_email - is not exists.

What is National Occupation Classification (NOC)?

The National Occupation Classification (NOC) is a system used by the Canadian government to classify and describe jobs in the Canadian labor market. The NOC is used to categorize and organize over 500 different occupations into four skill levels, based on education and experience requirements, as well as job duties and responsibilities.

The NOC is used in a number of ways in Canada, including in the immigration process, where it is used to assess the eligibility of applicants for certain immigration programs, such as the Express Entry system and the Canadian Experience Class. The NOC is also used in the Canadian labor market to match job seekers with job opportunities and to evaluate the demand for certain occupations.

The National Occupation Classification (NOC) system is used in Canada to categorize jobs based on the tasks and responsibilities involved in each type of work. The NOC is updated every five years to reflect changes in the labor market and to ensure that the classification remains relevant and up-to-date.

Each job in the NOC is assigned a four-digit code, which provides a quick and easy way to identify and compare different occupations. The four digits are structured to reflect the main duties and responsibilities of the job, as well as the level of skill required.

The NOC is organized into 10 broad occupational categories, which are:

  1. Management occupations
  2. Business, finance, and administration occupations
  3. Natural and applied sciences and related occupations
  4. Health occupations
  5. Occupations in education, law, and social, community, and government services
  6. Occupations in art, culture, recreation, and sport
  7. Sales and service occupations
  8. Trades, transport, and equipment operators and related occupations
  9. Natural resources, agriculture, and related production occupations
  10. Manufacturing and utilities occupations

Each of these broad categories is further divided into more specific occupational groups, which are then divided into individual occupations. The detailed job descriptions provided in the NOC help to ensure that the classification accurately reflects the skills, education, and responsibilities required for each type of work.

The NOC is used in a variety of ways, including to support immigration decisions, to help workers identify their skills and career paths, and to provide data for research and analysis. It is also used by employers, educators, and government agencies to help make informed decisions about the labor market and workforce development.

Latest Posts
  • -  Working Visa

    Canada Federal Skilled Worker Program

    The Canada Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) is a government program that allows skilled workers from around the world to immigrate to Canada and work in their chosen field. The program is designed to address Canada’s labor market needs by attracting highly skilled and experienced workers who can contribute to the Canadian economy.

  • -  Working Visa

    Top Reasons For Canada Working Visa Rejection

    Working visa rejection is a situation where an individual’s request for a work permit to work in Canada is denied. This means that the individual will not be able to work legally in Canada. The reasons for rejection can vary and may include inaccuracies or incompleteness of the application, lack of required documentation, health or security concerns, ineligible …

  • -  Working Visa

    What visa do you need to work legally in Canada?

    There are several types of work visas available in Canada, each with specific requirements and eligibility criteria. The most common types of work visas include the Temporary Foreign Worker Program (TFWP) Visa, the International Experience Canada (IEC) Visa, the Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) Visa, the Provincial Nominee Program (PNP) Visa…